A story takes action. Action takes guts. A good story takes more than action, which takes creative guts.

It is not easy to get people to do the right thing, and merely asking them is not enough. A perfect example is the “baby seal” activists who try to get me to sign petitions and donate money through guilt trips and harassment. Enthusiasm is no replacement for strategy, and volunteering is not enough. Their heart is in the right place, but their mind is not engaged. I thought I cared about baby seals until I met the people trying to save them. Don’t get me wrong, I applaud their sacrifice of time and energy, but it’s all for not if they alienate their audience. Unfortunately, the very people who are trying to save the animals are giving them a bad name. Why do they have soo much sympathy for the seals but non for me? Don’t they know that most of us are soo broke we represent our own “cause” in need of donations in order to survive? I can sympathize with the seals, but if the activists can’t sympathize with me then they’ve lost my support.

Its like a great dancer with no fashion sense. A terrible outfit won’t make him any less of a dancer, but it will make him less of a performer. And the performance is where the impact is made.

Presentation matters, even when it’s charity.

 

